The new Videocon Advertisement

Advertisements amuse me a lot. Some of them make a lot of sense and reflect the brain of the person who thought of it in the first place, not to mention the skills of the people who worked on the idea and gave it shape. Almost all advertisements amuse me. Why ? While the good advertisements amusing someone is understandable, the bad ones amuse me because I try and imagine the person who came up with it. The guy/gal must look funny if not the advertisement.

SRK-MSD

The most recent Videocon has “Shah Rukh Khan” promoting his movie in yet another novel way. Whether he is a good actor or not, man atleast he is creative when it comes to the ways in which to promote his movies. So we will see “Mahendra Singh Dhoni” – captain Indian Cricket Team shake a leg with Shah Rukh Khan in the latest OSO….sorry… Videocon Advertisement. SRK plays Dhoni and Dhoni plays SRK in OSO. I don’t know what Dhoni got out of the deal ? Lot’s of money for sure and maybe now he is friends with SRK. Closer to Deepika Padukone ? 😉 Nice try Dhoni… 

Whats the AD all about ? No way I am going to tell you that. That will be broadcast in a thousand useless news channels anyway. First they will show you “The making of the new Videocon Ad.”. Then you will have interviews with SRK, MSD and maybe even the crew members. Some guy from Videocon will the the appor-toonity to say a few things about Videocon in between all the hype and hoopla. I hear the Ad is already on the idiot box….Go watch it…or not

 

Hey a few hours after I wrote this post, I checked youtube and guess what I found ? The video is available!! Heres the link:

Videocon ShahRukh , Dhoni Brothers Commercial

The Indian OREOs

Oreo 

Before I start, I must confess I never thought I’d be writing about food. 🙂 What inspired me to write the post was a friend of mine giving me a couple of “Sunfeast Dark Fantasy” biscuit packets. And hey if it’s interesting(and yummy) to write about then, why not ?

Sunfeast Dark Fantasy 

So this is about…yea you guessed it. The delicious and delectable OREO cookies and its Indian counterpart. I had my first OREO cookie courtsey my elder brother who had been to Germany and back. (Well when vegetarians go abroad, they end up eating cookies and stuff like that. Vegetarian food is really expensive 😉 ) Till then I was blissfully unaware of a “biscuit” by the name of OREO. But once I was introduced to it, I wanted more!! After finishing off the packets my brother had got home in record time, I had to wait again till he’d go to the US of A and come back with more OREO. And once again it was gone in no time!! 😀 Brittania’s Pure Magic has always been good, but is never a match for the OREO.

Various Oreos

A few facts about OREO:

  • It’s called a “sandwich cookie.” (We Indian’s simply call it cream biscuits) – It has two chocolate cookies with Vanilla cream in between.
  • Oreo WaferStix – long wafer sticks with cream filling and covered by chocolate
  • Uh-Oh Oreos     – reverse/Inverse OREO’s. They have Vanilla wafer’s and chocolate cream.
  • Other Oreos include Golden Oreos, Mini Oreos, Double Delight Oreos, Flavored Oreos, Double Stuf Oreos, Big Stuf Oreos, White fudge Oreos, Milk Chocolate Oreos, ……..

Sunfeast Dark Fantasy:

Sunfeast Dark Fantasy made by ITC is pretty good. Though a poor substitute to OREO, it’s as god as a desi OREO can get. It’s definitely better than Britannia’s Pure Magic ones. But for the health conscious, hey its supposed to contain a lot of calories. So watch it!! Don’t just indulge 😉

Sunfeast Dark Fantasy

For people who will swear by OREO and will not take a substitute, its avilable across all “Nuts n’ Spices” outlets in Chennai I think. It was also available in “Singapore Shoppe” in Thiruvanmiyur and “My Shoppe” in Neelangarai.