Road Trip-Thanksgiving 2014 – Post 1 of 8 – Drive from Austin,TX to El Paso, TX and drive from El Paso, TX to Phoenix, AZ

This is the first in a series of 8 posts, not including the introductory post.

1. Drive from Austin, TX to El Paso, TX and drive from El Paso, TX to Phoenix, AZ (Day 1,2)

Day 01- 11-21-2014 -> Austin, TX to El Paso, TX

I had already fueled my car and packed my stuff the day before and loaded it into my car. So I was prepared, and wanted to leave early in the evening directly from work to save some time, and to try and miss the traffic on Loop 360 in the evening. I managed to leave around 4:45 pm.

My Destination was a motel in El Paso, TX and according to Google maps, it was 567 miles away and would take me ~ 8 hours to get there. I would have expected to reach around 01:00 am Austin time, which I found out was 02:00 am in El Paso, TX.

The route was to get to RM 2224/ Bee Caves Road, on to 71, on to RM 3238, 12, W Hwy 290, 281, 290, I 10 and keep driving on I-10 till you reached El Paso. Google Maps was doing some crazy things right after I started where instead of showing 8 hours, it kept saying 10 hours. I was’t sure if it had the right route, so I had to stop at a Chevron on RM 2224, and make sure I had the right route before I headed on. With 8 hours, and sun going to set pretty fast, I didn’t have any plans of seeing any thing on the way. Also, since I had to do the driving duties, I didn’t have the luxury of sleeping less and visiting more places, or the time before hand to plan properly to stop at National Parks/ State Parks/ Historic Sites …etc. I think I’ll have to keep that for another time.

By the time I hit Hamilton Pool road (RM 2238), it began pouring suddenly, and pretty heavy at that. My visibility was pretty badly reduced. It rained for the next one hour or so – not the ideal way to start on a road trip. 🙂 The Lyndon B Johnson State Park and Historic Site on Hwy 290 would be something I’d like to visit – but it’s close enough to Austin that I should be able to do it on any weekend. Fredericksburg was also pretty interesting to see – again close enough to Austin to do any time, so I’ll not feel too bad about not stopping there.

Other places I might have been interested to stop at: South Llano River State Park, Caverns of Sonora and McDonalds Observatory. Big Bend seems out of the way, and too close to Mexico, but I’d want to do it some day.

The MobilyTrip app crash caused the data to get wiped out, so I’ll have to look for the fuel bill or a photo I took to see where I was stopped. Found it from a photo to be Fort Stockton, TX. Interestingly at the gas station, the gas was just being filled as I got my coffee and came back out. It’s amazing that gas stations can run out of gas – good thing they don’t need to go anywhere 🙂

Near El Paso, I 10 runs pretty close to Mexico. But like someone remarked about the drive, it was pretty uneventful, boring long stretch – the only exciting thing about which is the high speed limit. I guess I didn’t lose much by driving after sunset – no views, vistas …etc.

Transcript from Journal Entry recorded on Voice Recorder 01:11 am Mountain Time:

05:30 pm rain stopped. 06:30-06:45 pm, reached Fredericksburg, TX. 07:30 pm hit I-10. Speed limit was 80mph. Decent amount of traffic – not alone on the road. Dead carcasses of animals on the sides of the road. Already dark. Deer carcasses on the sides. One wolf like animal crossed the road in front of me. Should have been able to stop if it had stopped on the road. Another animal came out from the left side, (i.e., the median side) peeked out and then went back in. I was a little surprised to see animals come from the median side of the road. Good thing I was driving with high-beam on. 08:00 pm had a bread slice from morning left in the car. 09:15 – 09:30 pm stopped for gas and Subway. Subway was closed. Google maps was giving wrong directions to the open Subway. Had to check with someone, who was able to direct me to the right place. Fueled the car, and got coffee. Maybe started around 10:00pm – search for Subway cost me some time. Half an hour’s stop including the fueling and dinner. Had half the sub. 270 miles left to El, Paso. On reaching Ramada El Paso, check in clerk took his own time to get me checked in. He did make a remark about how he has interestingly never been to Austin, but been to California instead. When asked where he was from, he was from El Paso. Pretty funny if you think about it. He also made a remark about not stopping at any of the smaller towns on the way and how they could be dangerous. I should read up on that. Went to the room, wolfed down the remaining half a sub, and hit the bed. The room itself was pretty ok – nothing fancy. But I was tired and just wanted to sleep.

Some research on animals one can spot on I-10:

http://www.texasalmanac.com/topics/environment/wildlife

Can’t really say what animals I spotted apart from deer. There were at least a couple more.

 Day 02- 11-22-2014 -> El Paso, TX to Phoenix, AZ

This was a drive I undertook eagerly, since I’d get to be back in Tempe and Chandler, where I have lived for the past 3+ years. The only small disappointment was when I found out that El Paso was also on mountain time, and I wouldn’t gain any time magically when I arrived at Phoenix. The breakfast at Ramada was alright. They had boiled eggs, bread, cereal …etc and the quality of food was pretty ok. I took some coffee to go for the road.

To Do: Add More on Day 02, check to see if there is a recorded journal – add it’s transcript. Add some photos.

Leave a Reply

