Ascent Fliud Trainer

As soon as I bought my new bike, the weather God’s decided I must not ride, so the temperatures went plummeting down to sub-zero, and I was left sad. Considering weather can be too cold or too hot for at least 3-4 months a year, where I currently live, I thought it might not be a bad idea to get a Fluid trainer. I mean for the price you pay for some of these, it might end up costing you less than winter weather clothes.

The other reason I went ahead and bought it was, most bike stands seemed to cost ridiculous sums of money. Now, I either wanted a stand that can double up as a repair/maintenance stand, or this. Guess, I found more utility in this.

http://www.performancebike.com/reviews/performance/power/pwr/product-reviews/Indoor-Training/Indoor-Cycling-Trainers/Resistance-Trainers/ASCENT/p/40__3940-Ascent-Fluid-Trainer.html
http://www.nashbar.com/bikes/Product_10053_10052_556272_-1
http://www.amazon.com/Ascent-Fluid-Trainer/dp/B00BMRNU4I

Mine came from Nashbar directly. (I could have bought through Amazon, but just stuck to Nashbar’s site – maybe I shouldn’t have.)

I did some reading online about the different types of trainers, and which might be best. I still feel trainers should be used sparingly – I think the forces on the bike when it is held by the rear axle (although the contact point is the quick release skewer), is very different from when you ride it on the road – your weight is being partly supported by the front tire, the rear tire and then the quick release skewer and the place where it contacts the frame. Also, since the frame is not rigid, and cannot move side to side, there would be some forces associated with that as well. (Especially, if you decide to stand up and go at it hard.) There’s a bike Nashbar one (which is slightly more expensive, but) which might be better, since it has a quick release kind of lever for tightening the qr on your rear wheel.

Initial Impressions:

I gave it a whirl, and so far it seems to be doing pretty ok. I’ll add more details along the way.

 

Leave a Reply

