To post or not to post

As I sit writing this (well-spaced-out) post, I am wondering why it is that over the last two years the number of posts I have written have gone down drastically. From being almost always logged in, and being very anxious to who has said what on my posts, to logging in once in two months, and not even bothering to reply to some of the comments.

Well, at first I thought it was just that I didn’t have access to internet and that I didn’t have enough time in comparison to college days. Well, those two are definitely factors. For a long time after college, I didn’t have access to internet, followed by not having a PC, and not having enough time outside of work.

But, that’s changed of late. I have an internet connection (and a pretty good one at that ๐Ÿ˜‰ , I have a PC ( again a pretty good one at that) and I have time. (enough time, if not surplus). But still, somehow, posts have been few in number. I haven’t found the energy to sit and write something. I don’t even know if I am as thrilled as I used to be about blogging. Is it that I am not interested ? Well, I am not sure. From time to time I have these urges that make me want to write a post, but then my laziness gets the better of me. I try to attribute my waning posting habits to the following:

1) I can no longer read posts/articles …etc which are more than 200 words. I kinda skim through them, and don’t have the energy enough to complete reading them. If that can be said about reading, I believe the same can also be said about writing.ย  (I must point out that I can still read novels, and at a decent pace.)

2) I don’t read a newspaper, or any magazines (Iย  used to read plenty of them). Well, I guess unless you know what is going on around you, you don’t really have anything to write about other than your personal life, and common, no one is interested in that. ๐Ÿ™‚

3) Back in college, loads of people I knew used to blog. Well, it was just nice to read and to be read.

4) I think I have become more and more of a ‘keep-it-to myself’ guy. I don’tknow why I have become that way. Maybe it is because of the work place, where my opinion doesn’t matter one bit. So, I guess I have developed this, ‘who cares about what I think’ attitude. It’s hard to say, really, but I am sure that I have progressively become worse at trying to convince people to align to my point of view. Not that I am not capable of doing so. I believe I can still make people see my point. It’s just that I guess I don’t want people to see my point. ๐Ÿ™‚

Ok, with that I close this post. Untill next time (what, a couple of months from now ?)

6 thoughts on “To post or not to post

  1. Too lazy to log in ๐Ÿ™‚

    I think (2) is particularly significant. I am in Chennai right now, and (like old times), was reading Outlook, The Week, RD, The Hindu…etc, and I immediately wanted to write on a plethora of things. (It’s another thing that I haven’t ๐Ÿ™‚ )

    Or take for that matter watching ‘headlines today’. This female who does the movie reviews (don’t remember her name) was on, and I had this urge to bash her up on my blog. ๐Ÿ˜€ Probably COntender No: 2 for worst Indian journalist ?

  2. @Sundar,

    Yes. ๐Ÿ™‚ But untill might just have been a typo. In any case I should start using the spell checker. ๐Ÿ™‚

    @Amog,

    I know. ๐Ÿ™‚ Well, it’s just a laptop. Nothing great really. Just that I am pretty happy with it. (Vista sucks though)

Leave a Reply

