ORK-05

ORK’s come and go on my blog without people so much as reading them. πŸ™‚ Here is yet another installment. (I guess the next one will take some time to come.) As always, I am limiting it to very few question(s). Just one in this case. πŸ˜€ Let’s see if you get this one.

As always the first one to answer the question correctly (and completely) shall win the grand prize of 1 Rupee. So fasten up your seat belts, pull up your socks and….. yea that’s about it. Just get the answer right.

Q: Identify each of these pictures and the video and connect them.

P.S: I am leaving the comments open this time.

12 thoughts on “ORK-05

  1. I am guessing it has got something to do with the September 11 attacks.
    I’ll mull over it a little more and come back with an explanation.

    (I am not googling or anything)

    Tell me if it is wrong, and I’ll come up with a different connection.

    Cheers.

  2. Not very easy. I’ll try.

    01 – No bloody idea.
    02 – Assassins creed – Robert de Sable of Jerusalem ( Grand master of knights templar )
    03 – I am legend – Robert Neville ( Will smith’s character )
    04 – PWEI – Robert “Fuzz” Townshend ( It’s Drummer )
    05 – Da Vinci Code – Robert Langdon ( Tom Hank’s character )
    06 – LOTR – GrishnΓ‘kh head of the mordor orcs ( Played by Robert Pollock )

    Connection: Robert

    Any good?

  3. Interesting, I don’t know much but the guy with the violin looks like Hans Zimmer who worked on the soundtrack for The Da Vinci Code movie (and also Pirates of the Carribean, I love that movie’s soundtrack, and if I can get it cheap anywhere I’d love to have it). He also worked a lot with James Newton Howard who did I am Legend, and also notably did Michael Clayton (from which your previous header image was).

    Now, The LOTR: Two Towers trailer has a reorchestrated version of Lux Aeterna from Requiem for a Dream (while it’s noticeable from around a minute thirty-six, the most iconic part of this soundtrack comes when you listen at around 2 minutes 5 seconds in). So does The Da Vinci Code trailer. It’s also in Assassin’s Creed. The guy who composed that score, Mansell, has another song which I forget in the trailer for I Am Legend.

    I have no fucking clue what PWEI is, but it probably has something to do with one of these composers.

    PS: Is Howard Shore somewhere in there? I’d like for him to be there, his scores for the LOTR Film Series were magical.

  4. I thought about Hanz zimmer too, but I figured his connection wasn’t strong enough with the other pictures.

    (I love the soundtrack too. Try p2p, or use audacity and record it off this)

  5. @Sundar,

    I give you points for not googling. Good man, you are. πŸ™‚

    But you were off course.

    @Amog,

    You got most of the identifications right. Although, the connect wasn’t what I was looking for. πŸ™‚ You could argue you are right with your connect of course and I will have to agree with you, but you still haven’t connected the first pic with the others. πŸ™‚

    Nice effort though. πŸ™‚

    @George,

    If I may say so, that was Fucking Brilliant!! (Even if you did Google, which is normally not something we want quizzers to do.)

    The connect is indeed Lux Aeterna

    I owe you a Rupee (I’d have said buck, but I have no intentions of parting with 40 rupees. πŸ™‚ ) You can come see me in Mysore about the prize money. πŸ˜‰

    But that was one good answer. You should consider teaming up with me (or I should consider teaming up with you for the Odyssey quiz and all that. πŸ˜€ )

    The first picture is that of Kronos Quartet The song was composed by Clint Marshall and played/recorded by Kronos.

    PWEI is Pop Will Eat Itself. Mansell was lead singer and Guitarist of PWEI.

    You didn’t get everything right, but I have to give it to you. I must say you were the last person I expected to find the answer. Maybe after the last question which you answered, I should have known better. (Michael Clayton one)

    Anyone who wants the POTC soundtracks and Requeim Soundtracks, I could mail it to you, or upload it to rapidshare. I have your mail id’s (if it wasn’t made up), so don’t bothers giving it out in public.

  6. @Amog,

    I was wondering why I could not visit your blog from the link. There seems to be a typo. blogspt.com. I guess the cookie keeps filling that in everytime . If you could change that from your next comment, we could (attempt to) answer your quizzes too. πŸ™‚

  7. @ Karthik
    Yeah, that’s the way the cookie crumbles πŸ˜€

    I was waaaay off ! How can you say i cracked it in part?!

    And I’d be honored if you attempt my quiz!

    @ George

    I forgot to mention, the POTC soundtrack was actually mainly the work of Klaus Badelt.

  8. So that wasn’t Hans Zimmer? I swear that guy looks just like him. Talk about going off in the completely wrong direction. For reference, I wikipedia’d Hans Zimmer, JNH and Requiem from a dream. A sort of cop-out, πŸ™‚

    @Amog: Yeah it wasn’t. But he looks so alike. Interesting news about the POTC soundtrack, I did not know that. Was told it was HZ.

    @Karthik: Me me! Email me the link!

  9. @Amog,

    Yes, that’s the way the cookie crumbles.

    You were way off, but then you did get most identifications right. Last thing we want to do is discourage people by saying you were way off. πŸ™‚

    I wish I had more time at hand. Don’t know if I will have time in the coming days to blog.

    @George & Amog ,

    Mailed one. Two more to go. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

