Contemplating doing a next course-M.E.,/M.S.,

My previous post has drawn some flak from all quarters. People were asking me about my “Peter” post and why I was being all “Senti” and “teary eyed” among a few other things. πŸ™‚ Well, I don’t (normally) write posts that are contemplative in nature.

Here is yet another contemplative post. I warn you so you may stop reading and go do something else more important. πŸ™‚ If you want to read on, don’t blame me. It’s “slighta” about my career. (But don’t wish me luck. Comments which carry “All the best for the future” will be frowned upon.)

Job:

Now, that I have planned to join Infosys (which I originally had planned on not doing. Let’s say circumstance (read lack of another job) has lead me into this decision), I guess I will have to work for a minimum of 16 months with them. That includes the 4 months (max. ?) training and then a further 1 year period. (I guess there might be a written bond)

Joining an IT company after doing a course in Electrical and Electronics wasn’t really what I had wanted to do. Don’t ask me what I wanted to do. It is because of me being clueless on that, that I am now typing this out. I was hoping that magically I would get into a Electronics company and they would assign me tasks and I would do my best to ensure I delivered what they wanted. πŸ™‚ Sad thing is, I never got in. Now, I am not against the so called IT field. I am not particularly bad at anything related to computers and being a EEE student, understand both the hardware and software of it. I can code. I am pretty decent with that. In fact one of the best things about learning to code is that we (Electrical engineers) use it in many things really. From power scheduling algorithms to machine design algorithms. So, programming and learning programming isn’t so bad after all.

I don’t wish to stay in Infosys for more than two years. That’s like the upper limit.

M.E. && M.S. / M.E || M.S. ?

I know I want to do a second (possibly also a third…and a fourth course πŸ˜€ ) now. But the problem is, I am not sure about a lot many things. First I don’t know whether I should be doing an M.S in the U.S straight away or first do an M.E right here in India and then do an M.S. Another option of course is to do the M.E. work a further 2 years and then do an M.S (by which time I would be really old πŸ™‚ ) Now, if at all I do an M.E in India, it will have to be one of the IIT’s. (I would have said IISc too, except I know I won’t get in. πŸ˜€ ) Now, I know I can crack GATE with some effort and secure a decent score.

Next comes the GRE. I don’t want to risk sounding pompous or anything, but I should think GRE should be easy. Well, maybe not a walk in the park, but definitely not something I would lose my sleep over. But then the M.S Admission Process doesn’t stop with that now, does it. There is so much more to do, unlike GATE.Β  I used to know a bit about these things a few years back, but then things have changed, and I am no longer in touch.

Even if I do decide (I am sure the scores will, even if I don’t) on whether I want to do an M.S or an M.E, there is so much more to decide. What course, which college. Man, it can be pretty difficult. The problem with me is, I really don’t know where my interest lie. I know what I am good at and what I can do, but within that, it is very difficult to choose a small niche segment and say, “Yea, this interests me the most.” I can’t. I am as interested in VLSI as I am in Power systems or in Signal Processing (although I assure you I have no credentials to support my interests. πŸ˜€ ) Will have to get started on things sooner than later.

Oh, I was talking to Shiva the other day and we got to chatting about how weird its going to be when I attend GATE and/or GRE classes with college kids. πŸ˜€ I will have to somehow hide this whole “I work” business and claim I am jobless and am sitting home doing absolutely nothing. πŸ˜€

P.S: M.E in this post refers exclusively to and Master of Engineering in India, and M.S refers exclusively to an Master of Science in U.S. People who state that M.S is available in India as well are advised not to. πŸ™‚

17 thoughts on “Contemplating doing a next course-M.E.,/M.S.,

  1. @Sundar,

    Yes. Thanks for letting me know that. πŸ™‚

    Yea. I don’t want to do a PhD. I don’t want to be referred to as Doctor. I didn’t become and Engineer to be called Doctor. So I figured I’d do two Masters courses. πŸ™‚ Whether it actually happens is to be seen.

  2. Why don’t you want to be called a doctor?A doctorate in engineering is what you’ll be doing, so you are still an engineer, you see?

    Also, considering Infy’s hectic working hours, it will be a little hard to juggle GATE/GRE classes and then following it up with the protracted apping process.But, people do it. In fact, one of my prospective room mates is from Infy.

    Why do you want to do two Master’s degrees?Wont it be something of a repetition?For instance, an M.E. in VLSI followed by an M.S. in VLSI!! In fact, you will learn more by doing a Ph.D and I presume that is your main criteria for taking up higher studies.

  3. @Srividya,

    I would still be an Engineer ? Whoa. Sometimes I wonder how I don’t think of these things. I thought I’d be a medical doctor doing dissections.

    I don’t plan to take classes for GRE. There will be no juggling. Juggling is for jokers. (Or people in a circus at least)

    I won’t be doing two masters degrees in VLSI. Or any other course for that matter. It only occurred to me now that people can do things like that.

  4. Brilliant. I’m impressed about the fact that you’re so enthusiastic about two more degrees when you just escaped a BE in Anna.

    I’m just in my third sem, and I’m already gagging.

  5. @Srividya,

    I do ? Well I might personally call it trying to keep the comment light hearted :), but yes, if you want to call it trying really hard to be funny, you can call it that.

  6. @Rachel : Hey rowdy…. Podhum de…. His answer is correct only. I asked him what’s his plan. He answered it…. During our next meeting you just see……

  7. Karthik, I would strongly advise you not to do your MS. Do your ME or be a social networking moron. I don’t care. Well, i may seem to people as an anti MS individual but i simply don’t care.

    Why not MS, will be your question! Well, do you think the whole concept of GRE is really needed? Do you think the concept of learning by rote all the words , cool? Okay, even if you do, of what use is it gonna be? And in what way is English Vocabulary related to Wireless networking and such?I really don’t see the connection.I have seen my cousin mugging up the words like anything. Why do something that’s not going to help us at all? Well, if money were an important criterion, why not try to do your MBA in B-schools? I have been like telling this to people all my life, with a hope that at least some will listen.

    Do what you have always wanted to do. Talk to a lot of people and get their suggestions but be the final person to decide.

    Phew, that’s indeed a *long* comment. duh!

Leave a Reply

