Vodafone Customer Care-Happy to Yelp ?

Happy to yelp ?

Nice advertisement and all. Well done. To the advertisement agency of course. But don’t overwork the dog. Animal rights activists are watching.

Now coming to Vodafone itself and it’s customer care and how they are ready to help. I had to call Vodafone customer care yesterday and I expected prompt service after watching these advertisements. No, I did not call just to check. I really had to call.

Excerpts from that call:

Mr.Jackass*: Vodafone Customer Care. Jackass speaking. How may I help you ?

(Now, I have to stress before typing further that I got the feeling this guy had watched too many T Rajendar movies and Jackie Chan movies back to back and must have used his English text as nothing more than a pillow. He has to be a fan of Himesh Reshamiya too. Because he was speaking in such a bad nasal tone (not voice), that I was finding it really hard to understand what he was saying. On top of the bad tone, his English was just as crappy.)

Me: Excuse me ?

Mr.Jackass: (Repeats what he said earlier.)

Me: Errr, Ya, this is Karthik. I have some issues with my friends and family numbers charges.

Mr.Jackass: (Gibberish which I assume to be, Ok, can you elaborate ?)

Me: Ya, I was earlier being charged 10 paise per minute for my friends and family numbers. Now I am being charged 30 paise for the same. I recharged with that 99 rupee per month recharge. Any idea why this is happening ?

Mr.Jackass: Sorry for the inconvenience Mr.Karthik. How long has this been happening ?

(using my decoding skills again to roughly get what he said)

(Also, what’s this bugger sorry for ? What inconvenience ? That’s supposed to be the parting line when the problem has been resolved and I am not at fault. The problem hasn’t even been identified yet!!)

Me: (Yea, like I set a timer for it) Some three days I guess. (shrug)

Mr.Jackass: Please hold on Mr.Karthik.

Me: Ya

(Weird Noisy music playing in the background. Oh, it’s the Hutch-now-Vodafone music)

After a while, he comes back on line.

Mr.Jackass: Sorry for the inconvenience Mr.Karthik. I just checked your scheme. It’s not possible for you to make calls for 10 paise Mr.Karthik.

Me: (WTF??) Listen, I have been using this for a while now. You are telling me I can’t have used it ?

Mr.Jackass: Sorry for the inconvenience Mr.Karthik. Sorry for giving you wrong information. You have to top up with that bonus card for you to avail that offer.

Me: See, is this because of the 99 rupee recharge ? And if so, how do I revert back to the 10 paise scheme ? Supposing next month I recharge with a 250 rupee recharge, will it automatically revert back to 10 paise ?

Mr.Jackass: Sorry, Mr.Karthik. You have to use the bonus card.

Me: (Fuming, yet controlling it well.) Oh, ok. Thanks then.

Mr.Jackass: Will that be all, Mr.Karthik ?

Me: (Yea, right) Yes, that’ll be all.

I don’t know about the inconvenience, but he should be sorry he is an idiot. Also, I guess the inconvenience was like a statutory warning. “Sorry for the inconvenience, but I am not going to resolve anything.”

So, after speaking to him like for 10 minutes, he still hadn’t given me a solution. Worse, still, he hadn’t even identified the problem. He must most definitely have a negative IQ. The only reason I didn’t lose my cool was because I know he must be pretty badly paid.

Vodafone, stop making dogs run behind tiny girls and provide better service instead.

*Name changed (even if there was no request) to protect the person’s identity.

21 thoughts on “Vodafone Customer Care-Happy to Yelp ?

  1. Nyahhahahha, you got caught doing a recharge on which ‘Tariffs change’ ha ha ha. I am very laughing at you. It happened to a girl I know too.

  2. @George,

    She should have chucked the sim. That would have been the prudent thing to do. (After first letting the customer care.)

    My case is different. Next time I recharge, as long as I don’t do the 99 rupee recharge again, it reverts. 🙂

  3. @George,

    If you are lucky enough or smart enough or both, you can actually get the number back. 🙂 Does involve a bit of effort though.

  4. So they finally removed the places where the Dog is made to take the tube with the girl and where it ran behind the bus. But today they were telecasting the running behind the bus scene alone again and again during the IPL match.

  5. @Vinod,

    They have versions of the same advertisement depending on the time slot they pay for. So it’s only natural that sometimes you don’t see part of the advertisement.

  6. Good afternoon Mr.Kartik ,myself Sabyasachi Banerjee,though my name is Sabyasachi Banerjee,though it is not very important to mention my name to u..yet i do this with a hope if some stupid and nonsense people might go through it and if…….
    I am telling u some true fuking incidents abt vodafone customer care..since i use to be the customer care executives for vodafone for last 1 year..
    1)i had worked for a period of one year without even a leave..but when i submit my resignation letter and asking for a leave letter..our hr mrs saheli asked my manger abt the quality of service i provided ..our manager mr partha sengupta (who has a holding a sacred relationship with mrs saheli) promptely answered that i used to be very selfish for the team…it better thet i am leaving….further he queried mrs saheli (secret admirer )that is their any rules that the concern could deduct my dues(for 2 months=1month holding salary as soon as they got to know abt my resignation in the name of revenue leakage+1month notice period….which they assume free service from the executive).
    2)Mr kartik u r thinking that why didnt i raise my voice against them?Why dont i file a sue against them?Why didnt i take legal advice in this regard?Did they paid my provident fund or not?The answers are:
    1)it was my first job… ididnt know the tricks then…now i am aware of them.
    the first lesson i got ..is dont give ur Access card until and unless u got the leave papers properly..First Source(kolkata)my concern took my access card ..thereafter i didnt met any officials of First Source..
    2)Dont sign in ALL Dues Clear Form…before u get the cash in hand..otherwise u will loose the dues as well as the right to sue aginst them..
    3)So mr Kartik why all those things i am sharing to u…just because to inform u that mr jackass is not at all wrong..”sorry for the inconvinience” starts from the induction training and it lasts till a customer likes u called up here expecting better service.

  7. Mr kartik if u find it interesting ,snd a msg then…i will provide u with more of this dirty politics of first source …just bcoz i want to share my stories …and make people aware of First Source…”Dont get youself recruited in First source”…..

  8. @Sabyasachi,

    I don’t know what prompted you to comment here, but thats the beauty of internet. Don’t you agree ? Now other people could read your comment and know something from it.

    I feel terribly sorry for the way these people treated you. That’s how things are in India these days. There are very few employers who take good care of their employees.

    I am indeed sorry for picking on this guy. 🙂 I know the working conditions aren’t the best for customer care people and the pay isn’t all that great.

    In my defence, I wanted Vodafone to get its act right and not the guy to get his english right.

    @Indeshwari,

    If that was an attempt at a joke, ha ha. Else, sorry, wrong number.

  9. hi kRTHICK

    THIS IS SHIVANI FROM CHENNAI…..
    JUST I WANT TO KNOW HOW CUM UR CUS CARE PEOPLE R ABLE TO DO UNAUTHORAISED JOBS WHICH ARE LIKE

    1 IF SOME FRIEND GIVE A NO AND ASK FOR ADD GIVING IMMED FROM UR CUS CARE MEMBERS, NOT ONLY ADD WITH CALL LIST.
    2TRACING IN COMING AND OUTGOING CALL FOR A PRE PAID NO.

    3 MAINLY I AM BIT FEAR TO TEL MY NAME AND NO AND THE PERSON WHOS TRASING MY PREPAID NO’S INCOMING AND OUT GOING CALLS.
    I CAN TEL BUT WAT MY FEAR IS HIS LIFE CARIEAR WILL GET SPOIL NA THATS WATS

    PLZ TAKE IMMED ACTION
    R PLZ TEL ME TO WHOM SHOULD I GIVE COMPLAINT. I A HAVE SENT A COMPAINT IN CONSUMER COMPLAINT BOX ABT THIS .EVEN THEN IF POSSIBLE PLZ HELP ME…………’
    THANKS

  10. THIS IS POORNEMA (A) SHIVANI FROM CHENNAI…..
    JUST I WANT TO KNOW HOW CUM UR CUS CARE PEOPLE R ABLE TO DO UNAUTHORAISED JOBS WHICH ARE LIKE

    1 IF SOME FRIEND GIVE A NO AND ASK FOR ADD GIVING IMMED FROM UR CUS CARE MEMBERS, NOT ONLY ADD WITH CALL LIST.
    2TRACING IN COMING AND OUTGOING CALL FOR A PRE PAID NO.

    3 MAINLY I AM BIT FEAR TO TEL MY NAME AND NO AND THE PERSON WHOS TRASING MY PREPAID NO’S INCOMING AND OUT GOING CALLS.
    I CAN TEL BUT WAT MY FEAR IS HIS LIFE CARIEAR WILL GET SPOIL NA THATS WATS

    PLZ TAKE IMMED ACTION
    R PLZ TEL ME TO WHOM SHOULD I GIVE COMPLAINT. I A HAVE SENT A COMPAINT IN CONSUMER COMPLAINT BOX ABT THIS .EVEN THEN IF POSSIBLE PLZ HELP ME…………’
    THANKS

Leave a Reply

