Zune Again!! And it Rocks

New Zune 

Ok I am turning something of a fan here. Why ? Because I just finished downloading (ok when I say I did something , it could also imply my brother actually did it in my presence.)  and installing the new zune software and firmware and it simply ROCKS!!

Let me tell you why it rocks : (My old zune with new firmware)

  • The new software is free. So is the firmware. Way to go Microsoft!!
  • The new firmware lets me download and watch podcasts on my old (30GB) Zune. The podcast collection on Zune Marketplace seems decent if not great.
  • I can wirelessly sync music from my PC to my Zune. ( I checked it and it works fine. It’s a bit slow, but who cares as long as I can sync songs wirelessly ?)
  • It supports more Video formats. Mpeg4 and H.263. (No Divx, Xvid yet though. That’s a bit of a disappointment.)
  •  The appearance of the new interface on the Zune rocks.

Comparison of dimensions

Why the 80GB Zune rocks:

  • Its available for the same price the 30GB model was available. (250 $)
  • It has a 3.2″ screen (compared to 3″ Zune and 2.5″ Ipod)
  • It is slimmer and smaller than my Zune 😦
  • It has custom engravings and stuff.
  • It comes with premium earphones!! ( 😦 I got normal ones with mine.)

Engravings on Zune

I am not writing a detailed review here. I read somewhere that they have discontinued a few features which were actually good. Like dynamic search and ranking system. I am sure there must have been some reason behind this.

P.S: One thing though. If you are planning to buy flash based players, I personally suggest the Creative Zen. Just Compare its features with any flash player and you will see why. (I think its the best player from Creative stable yet!!)

Creative Zen

Leave a Reply

