Om Shanti Om Vs Saawariya

Ok I am in a movie mood all of a sudden. So please don’t mind the endless posts on movies. I know the coverage of OSO VS Saawariya in the media has been pretty heavy already. Sony is throwing its weight around by advertising and publicizing the movie in its channels and SRK is trying to do everything he can from wearing OSO shirts to cricket matches, to celebrating his birthday on television to woo the audience. It is also dubbed as a literal fight at the box office between Sanjay Leela Bhansali and Farah Khan. The whole fight itself can be orchestrated for both movies’ sakes. Its bollywood you see. Anything is allowed here.

OSO Vs Saawariya
 

Directors:
Between Farah Khan and Sanjay Leela Bhansali, it’s hard to pick one person. While Farah’s movies are total “filmi” entertainers with masala, Leela Bhansali isn’t Gowarikar either. I didn’t get the opportunity to watch Black but Devdas was just about alright with normal bollywood twists. (Ok I am relying on my memory heavily here which somehow I think I shouldn’t be. Never works well in the exams.) Considering that SRK worked with Bhansali in Devdas I wonder if he will attend the premiere ;).
 

Music:
I listened to the music of both movies and they seem ok. A couple of songs in each are very good, while the others are just about alright. In OSO, Ajab Si and Dard-e-Disco sounded good. In Saawariya, Saawariya and Jab Se Tere Naina were good.
 

Production:
While OSO is being produced by Gauri Khan (SRK’s wife), Sony is producing Saawariya and that’s big news. In my opinion it’s(Saawariya) actually the underdog, because while in OSO you have SRK and Deepika Padukone, In Saawariya the cast is relatively new even if they are from within the film fraternity. 
 

Saawariya:
While OSO is heavily publicizing SRK and Deepika, most people don’t know that Saawariya has Salman Khan and Rani Mukherjee. (Nor did I until I got a bit curious.)
Here’s wishing both movies all luck at the box office. I am praying Saawariya rakes in more moolah, because I always support the underdog. (But having said that, the people I support normally let me down.) Let’s wait and watch….

Leave a Reply

