ISRO Recruitment

 isro

Well, I applied on-line for this ISRO job a week back. Well, nothing great about it. They will first screen people and let them take a test. Then if you clear the technical test, (and are eligible for affirmative action. (that’s a nice way of putting things) ), you will be called for an interview. If you manage to make that as well, then you are employed.

Let me tell you a couple of things though. Working for ISRO may not be so bad after all. I cannot comment on whether you will be designing space shuttles and stuff. (Especially if you are the kinda incompetent person that hates Engineering and thinks a project is a sheer waste of time.) But it’s at-least batter than mindless coding for grocery shops. (Potti Kadai soon.)

And the pay. Golly, that’s the surprise package. They pay as much as my prospective IT employer promises to pay me. :) Almost 20k per month. And Government jobs are going to get a pay revision pretty soon. I don’t know if there is a bond though. I would be against that.

Anyway, coming to the point without further delay, I was supposed to note down a registration number that I would later on have to write on the reverse of my DD. I was too damn lazy to get a pen and paper or even note it on some notepad document. So, I saved the HTML file. Brilliant!! I open the file later to find that somehow the first page of the application was saved instead. Wow, screwed!!

So, I decided to mail the ISRO guys and ask them what to do. I kinda knew that there would be no reply. I mean Government employees don’t work and even if they do, they can’t check e-mail. Right ? Wrong!! This  guy mails me back asking me for a few details so that he can find my registration number for me. Man, was I pleased :D India really is changing. So, I sent him the details and he replied with the registration number as promised. Well, all’s well ? Nope. He mailed it to me at around 4:30 . I am supposed to send in my application by the 21st. So there is very little chance that it will reach them on time. :(

BTW, my keyboard batteries got over midway. I am using the On-Screen Keyboard. :)

206 responses to “ISRO Recruitment

  1. Pingback: ISRO Institute « ISRO Watch

  2. I knows, these tests and interview will be a piece of cake for you :lol:
    Advance wishes :grin:

    And hey India is changing, guess what, yesterday i had some problem with my land line so i called up BSNL and reported. To my astonishment a guy was sent to fix the problem in 2 hours, even though it was raining.

  3. @Gowtham,

    True. Remember by 5 digit BSNL bill ? All we had to do was mail these guys. And they reversed it. Earlier you would have to go from table to table in their office.

    My Airtel connection has actually been acting up of late.

  4. Still Airtel is best compared to Bsnl
    WE can get a conversation number which will be having the conversation recorded . So that we can claim at any time.
    @gautham
    I am shocked to see that step taken by Bsnl. ” a man came and fixed in two hours that too in rain”

  5. Don’t even try to blame Airtel. They’re earned massive goodwill with their brilliant service and unlimited plans.

    Gowtham is lying. Obvious.

  6. @Marc,

    Airtel is good. No doubt. But they are expected to be good.

    @Gowtham,

    Stoned ?

    @Vivek,

    Often ? I don’t know man. I’d say seldom. (unless you are stoned)

  7. India is changing. But the bigger truth is it has always been so, adapting itself. Getting a bit academic, its civilization and its religion have withstood alien onslaughts, because … why? Because, it ‘adjusted’ matters to the onslaughts, striking a common plank to connect similarities in own culture and ‘guest’s (which is friendlier than ‘alien’ ) . The other civilizations resisted, and perished without trace. If you look at ISRO in this perspective, you will slowly ( ! ) but surely come out of its assessment as an “Indian government” organization with its characteristic notorieties. The scenario of changes has been unveiled more spectacularly during the last decade. Narendra Modi, on all accounts, is said to have been elected due to proven good governance under him, although some, like diehards such as NDTV anchors think that they will lose ad revenues if the programs are not slated heavily with Hinduttva, Hindu-Muslim disturbances [They made great use of Sonia’s ‘merchant of death’ paradigm in their pre-poll campaign calling it secularist call.)

  8. Well….i wanna come back to ISRO Part..

    Karthik,can u tell me wht exactly comes in this ISRO test? I have to attend the test on 4th may…and dont know nothing abt the syllabus…so can u pls tell me whts the syllabus..

    And hey abt pay package the IT Company in which i have got placed is 3 Lacs pa
    So,will ISRO b giving better pay than this,and whts the growth in ISRO?
    I know its too much asking frm ya…but if ne1 having info abt ISRO thn do tell me!

    And abt Broadband providers…

    AIRTEL is the BEST!
    BSNL SUCKS….and so does its plans!i

  9. @Prashant,

    We all have the test on the 4th of May and it’s sad that the ISRO people have not intimated us about the syllabus and nature of the test.

    I remember reading somewhere that the scoring is +3 for right answers and -1 for wrong answers.

    The duration of the test is 1 hour 30 minutes and the nature of the test is multiple choice.

    As far as what you can expect goes, it’s going to be technical for sure. For an electronics student, you would be expected to know electrical circuits, NAS, electronic circuits, digital electronics, power electronics…etc. You might also be asked questions on TL and Communications.

    ISO pay is clearly mentioned in the site and it comes to around 19k per month. You do the math.

    I do not know about growth in ISRO. Always remember it’s a Govt company. :)

  10. Hi…….
    I too hav applied for ISRO….but a day or two back i realised dat i hav lost d registration no.
    Although i’ve got a mail 4m ISRO ppl bout d test & admit card…..bt i was wondering if d registration no. will be required later.
    Do u hav ne idea bout dat ????????
    And can u also plz tell me d ID on which u mailed to them ………….

    Bye…..

  11. i’m a pre final yr. student in comp. sc. & engg.what should be my minimum average marks in semisters to be eligible for d writen test? i know they set a minimum of 65% but is dat enough?can nybody inform me approximately wat should d % of marks be?

  12. @Arnima,

    You are most welcome.

    @Swarnava,

    It’s left to the discrtion of ISRO authorities. However if you have 65 % it should do. I know of a lot many people who applied with an aggregate of not more than 70 %. I was expecting some of them to be weeded out in the preliminary stage even before the test. But that didn’t happen. So don’t worry. :)

  13. How was the paper of 4th May ? Was it easy or difficult? and anyone knows when the results are expected?

  14. @Swarnava,

    You are most welcome.

    @Manu,

    It was pretty simple really. Of the 80 questions, I knew about 50 for sure. took a chance with a few more. (<10) But I am pretty sure I won’t make it. Simply because many people would have got more than 70 right. I did not even attend those many.

    Don’t know when the results are expected. But considering it was OMR sheets, it should be out in two weeks I guess.

    If anyone is serious about getting into ISRO, then I would recommend you prepare for GATE and prepare well. ISRO test is a piece of cake compared to GATE and on similar lines.

  15. Hey,

    Do you know when they’ll give out the results of ISRO test. I think if you attempted even 50 and got them right, you should be shortlisted. I attempted 75 but got quite a few wrong( Arrrrrrgh). I know quite a few ppl who got into ISRO even after attempting just 60 questions. But hey, will they prepare separate merit list for OBC’s??? Is there reservation in ISRO?

    See ya. :)

  16. @Vinay,

    No Idea. I have been checking regularly though. Even if the evaluatio doesn’t take long, publishing results takes time.

    I don’t know if there will be a separate merit list, but then for sure for sure, they will have relaxations. This is India where Arjun Singh masters Social Engineering. :)

  17. Ya, this is india indeed.

    Hey, do you know how ISRO handles the interview once we are shortlisted? Any idea about what things they’re gonna ask? I dont know if they take the interview for more that half an hour. They got hell of a lot candidates to interview. Hey, i recently got a job in Aeronautical Development Agency as a software engineer. Im gonna be given work for Light combat aircraft Tejas in software development. Cool huh? But the salary ain’t cool. The consultancy which got me the job will take 5000 everymonth from my salary :( Guess what, the ADA scientists interviewed me for ONE HOUR. I know a lot of friends who’ve jumped to HCL, Bosch and honeywell through ADA. Anyways, if ISRO opportunity comes along, im grabbing it with both hands :)

  18. @Vinay,

    Nope, no idea. This is the first time I am giving the test myself and I don’t have much of an idea. But it should definitely be technical.

    Congrats on your technical job. Some of us are hoping to get into something like that. :( Pretty cool, I tell you. I’d trade my job for yours. :D

    So you are a Computer Science Engineer ? 5000 every month is a rip off. I hope we hear for ISRO soon.

  19. Hi,

    Im an electronics and communications engineer. I got into ADA in the software development team. Would you trade your job for mine? Where are you placed now? And Guess what? The ISRO results are out dude :) And I’VE MADE IT. My interview is scheduled on 16th june. What about you? Kindly tell me your interview date. I’m quite sure you would have made it too.

    See ya.

  20. @Vinay,

    First, let me congradulate you on your awesome result. It’s really nice to know you made it through. :) All the best with your interview.

    I have a job with Infosys. But I really have no clue what I will be working on once I join because I am an Electrical and Electronics Engineer. I can code a bit, but then never know how HR’s evaluate you.

    I checked my ISRO results, and this is what it had to say,

    Post No:01 Post Name:Scientist/Engineer SC-Electronics
    Application Processing Status

    You have not been shortlisted for Interview.

    So, I guess that’s it. Thanks for your faith in me, but I didn’t make it. :( I would have loved to have, but I didn’t. Maybe I will join as your junior. :D

    Where are you from anyway ? I mean college, state ?

  21. Hey Karthik,

    Thank you so much for your wishes. Im really sorry you didn’t make it. Im from karnataka , VTU. I’ve done my engineering in PDA engineering college , Gulbarga. I’m currently staying in bangalore. Tell you what, i got into Infosys in campus and joined it in pune and was horrible, the training period. Its really tough. I quit half way of the training because i couldnot handle so much pressure. Spent 6-7 months in utter disgust for leaving such a good job. I left because i wasn’t happy with the IT field. It just was so unadventurous. I wanted something like ISRO right from the beginning. Now i got a chance of making it, thank God.

    But i tell you what, work hard during the training period and you can pass the training period without any hickups. After that, they’ll keep you in bench for 5-6 months or more. Then, if you’re lucky, they’ll give you a project. It depends on what you want to do with your future from then on.

    Hey, did you apply for the BSNL JTO? Its a good opportunity as well. There are about 3591 posts all over india. I dont think even ISRO has that many this time. Do you know how many posts are there in ISRO. And how many ppl are they going to call for interview. Is it 1:2 or more?

  22. @Vinay,

    That’s alright. There’s always a next time. :)

    I don’t intend on staying with Infy for long if I can help it. Jus something to start with.

    I have not applied for BSNL. I am a little choosy when it comes to jobs. I might apply for DRDO and take the SET. I’ll have to put in some preparation for tha though. Else it will just be a waste.

    @Tulika,

    Here, http://www.isac.gov.in/CentralBE/advt.jsp

  23. hey guys
    i just completed electrical engineering from NIT Hamirpur..could u plzz tell me when will be the recruitment test for electrical engineers..i mean i need to know when will the application forms be out and date till which we are required to submit ????

  24. hello man…i wants to know about the results of scintist/engineer “SC” category which was held on 04-05-2008.plz tell me as soon as u can.

  25. @Prachi,

    Considering it just got over like last month, I think you will have to wait one year.

    There is no category for electrical engineers in ISRO. (Or at least it wasn’t there this time over.) We have to give the test as Electronic Engineers. (If you did a ECE, then you’d be more at ease. But no reason to worry. There are only a few questions we Electrical engineers wouldn’t be aware of.)

    You should try DRDO in the meanwhile. The SET (Scientist Entry Test) is sometime in September. I think you can find the details online.) YOu need to apply from SBI’s I think.

    Also, where is Hamirpur ? I am curious to know.

    @Alankar Shastri,

    If only you cared to look at the comments before your own, you should find the link in a comment addressed to Tulika.

  26. Hi there!
    I wrote the ISRO test on May 4 th 2008.
    Has any body got the results or have any idea how to know it?

  27. Hey Karthik,

    I have my interview on 16th june if you remember. I have been staying in my home in gulbarga and preparing for the interview. Im doing radars, satellite comm and microwaves mostly coz i heard isro ppl are mainly into these specializations. However , i have to join ADA in first week of june. Hey, i heard some of ADA engineers got into big avionics giants such as Boeing and Airbus. ADA promises to be rich but my heart is with ISRO man. If i get into it, then im going there for life!!! I’ll keep you posted about my interview. I promise, my first blog after interview will be here!! Hope it goes well :)

  28. @Vinay,

    From the sound of it, ADA looks as good as ISRO. As long as you will be working with stuff you have been excited about all your life, it’s great really.

    Thanks for offering to keeping me posted on your interview. I hope it goes well too. It would be nice to know someone in ISRO when I apply next time. :) All the best man. Do well.

  29. hello…
    I wrote the ISRO test on May 4 th 2008.
    Has any body got the results or have any idea how to know it?

  30. Thanks mate. The interview is just a few days from now. I got many inputs from shortlisted candidates. About 50 people are called in Bangalore for the interview. Looks like ISRO guys filtered the most in the written test. I think there will be less filtering in the interview looking at the less number of people called for interview. The test was conducted in 10 centres. So , maybe 500 people are called all over india for the interview. Don’t know how many they’re gonna pick. They are keeping all the things, the number of posts and everything a secret. And hey, there are no reservations for backward castes in ISRO. ISRO is excempted from reservation for the scientist posts. Anyways, i’ll be back on 16th june to give my experience.

  31. @Vinay Kumar,

    It’s good to keep things a secret. If you publicize it, then people will prepare only for that. That’s sad.

    The no reservation rule sounds nice. At least there is fairness somewhere. :)

    Awaiting your comment post interview. And hoping you make it.

  32. Hey guys…m from delhi and from Mechanical and Automation branch…i also got shortlisted for the interview….i have my interview on 20th…r u sure abt the number of ppl shortlisted from Bangalore??
    I mean does the list of 50 guys from Bangalore include ppl from all the 3 branches (viz. ME, ECE and CSE)?nd how did u find out the number of ppl selected from Bangalore?

  33. @Ankit,

    The mail we got was only for electronics guys. And interviews on 16th and 17th are only for electronics. I don’t know how many from mechanical are shortlisted. I think its the same as electronics.

    @Karthik,

    Its over dude :) I just finished with the interview. It took about 15-20 minutes for everyone, i was told. I answered about 80 percent or more of their questions. The senior scientist sitting at the middle asked for the subjects i prepared most. I told Radars and Satellite communications. He fired few questions on radars and other 9 members asked one or two questions , that’s all. I was mostly asked from Satellite communications. I’m keeping my fingers crossed!!!!!!!!! I just have a good feeling about this man, i just hope i make it into ISRO. Do you want more on the interview. Scroll down.

    I enter the room, the main scientist calls my name and asks me to take a seat. Its a long oval shaped table with me at other end and nine scientists at other end. First he asked me about the gap after my graduation. I told him i had an offer with Infosys but didn’t like the software domain. He smiles. Then he said, what did you do for a year. I said, i prepared for GATE but couldn’t attend it. Next,
    Scientist in the middle: which subjects you prepared most?

    Me: My favourite subjects are Radars and Satellite communications.

    Scientist in the middle: Out of the two, which do you prefer.

    Me: Pause, Radars.

    Scientist in the middle: What is meant by RADAR.

    Me: Radio Detection and Ranging.

    Scientist in the middle: What principle does it work on?

    Me: Doppler effect. (I explain in detail about it)

    Scientist in the middle: No, doppler effect can be used in RADAR but what principle does it work on.

    Me: RADAR works on the principle of finding the position and velocity of target amidst clutter.

    Scientist in the middle: What is clutter?

    Me: Clutter is disturbance caused by land, sea, and sky clutter.

    Scientist in the middle: What kind of signals can be used in RADAR.

    Me: Both continuous waves and pulsed waves.

    Scientist in the middle: If we use continuous waves, then receiver will run into saturation.

    Me: We can use separate transmitter and receiver rather than a duplexer.

    He doesn’t seem impressed.

    Next, he request scientist on his right, Mr. Ashok if i remember to ask me some questions.

    He asks me wavelength of 300MHz wave, i request for paper. They say its available on the table. The scientist in the middle says you don’t need to calculate it. I laugh and still scratch on the paper and work it out as 1 metre. Stupid of me. I could have just answered normally.

    The next scientist on the right asks me some questions on satellite communications.

    Scientist: What is the main difference between satellite and cellular communications.

    Me: Satellite is mainly a repeater in the sky, which is basically used for long distance communications where are cellular communications use local networks to work.

    Scientist: Can’t we use satellite for short distance then?

    Me: We can.

    Scientist: Then what is the basic difference between satellite and cellular communications.

    Me: I stick on the aswer that satellites are used to carry long distance traffic. He drops the question.

    Scientist: What distance do the satellites use.

    Me: I mistake it for delay and say that it takes about 270mS.

    Scientist: No, the range?

    Me: 36000 kilometers. He seems satisfied.

    Scientist: Can we use LEO satellites for communications?

    Me: Yes.

    Scientist: Give me an example.

    Me: Iridium.

    He nods his head in agreement.

    Now, the focus on to the next scientist on his right.

    Scientist: You might have heard about modulation schemes. Why are there so many modulation schemes like BPSK,QPSK, QAM etc.

    Me: It depends upon the application.

    Scientist: Which is used in satellite comm.

    Me: BPSK is most widely used in satellite comm.

    Scientist: Can’t we use others? What is the difference between 8QPSK and other schemes.

    Me: 8QPSK uses only 8 signal points in signal space while others use variable signal points.

    Scientist: What is the difference betw. 8PSK and other schemes.

    Honestly, i didn’t know the answer but said receiver complexity.

    Scientist: Forget complexity, tell me interms of bandwidth requirement.

    Then next scientist opposite to him joins him and asks the same question to me.

    I just keep quiet. The scientist in the middle then interrupts and asks the next person , this time the scientist sitting opposite to the ones who asked me questions.

    Scientist: You might have studied microprocessors. Tell me if i say 8 bit microprocessor, what does it mean.

    Me: It signifies the length of data bus.

    Scientist: Why not address bus? Okay, give me an example.

    Me: 8085

    Scientist: Give me example of 16bit microprocessor.

    Me: 8086.

    Scientist: What is the length of address bus in 8086

    Me: 16 bit,

    he laughs, i say 32 bit.

    The other scientist interrupts and repeats the question for me.

    I say, im confused between 16 and 32 bits.

    Finally, the senior scientist in the centre interrupts and says, its okay. And says thank you. All scientist nod their heads and say okay, fine, thank you.

    I stand up and say that i got my seminar work. They say, we wanted project work. I say that i gave seminar on Theory of Relativity. The main scientist says, okay and after a pause says Good. I come out of the room.

    Huh, thats all, man. How do you think i fared? I just hope i make it. Do you think i will get through.

  34. @Vinay,

    That made an interesting read. You know something though ? I was going through your comment and knew some of the answers myself. :) If only I had made it to the interview. :(

    But then I shall be preparing for GATE pretty soon. And when ISRO has their next years’ test (which I hope they will), I hope to make it through.

    I think you answered most questions well, from what I know about communications and RADARs at least. Did you know that Motorola’s LEO plan was a big failure ? The modulation schemes were very interesting when I learnt it form W. Tomasi. The same cannot be said about the modulation schemes in mobile phones. I hated them. :D

    With your permission, I could make this comment of yours into a full fledged post.(with acknowledgments of course)

  35. @Vinay,

    Reading through ur interview details, it seems that it went on good. Even though i cannot say anything abt the correctness of ur answers(being from Mech branch), i’m judging from the responses of the scientists.

    Didn’t they ask u abt ur project??u said dat just before leaving, u told them abt ur seminar work. Didnt they ask for training, project or seminar work during the interview?nd did u take the reports along??

    I hope u do make it through. All the best man.

  36. @Karthik,

    I didn’t know about Motorola’s LEO plans. Did they plan to lauch LEO satellites? Anyways, Hughes and Boeing are two big players in the LEO business now from many years.

    You have my permission to take my post and make it a blog. I’m just waiting for results man. I hope i did well though, reasonably. I just hope i make it through. I had my seminar report with me though but they didn’t take interest in it even after i said i had it with me. I just told them that i did it on The Theory of Relativity. Some scientists turned their head around towards me after i told them that!!! I am quite a physics junky and got lot of attitude towards space research and astrophysics. What an irony, they didn’t get to know it. :)

    @Ankit,

    They asked for my project report but i didn’t carry. That’s all, after that, they didn’t ask anything about project or seminar.

  37. @Vinay,

    Thanx for all the info bro…so when r the results gonna be out?
    All the best man..

  38. @Vinay
    Nice work man. got ur result?

    I got place in bosch and also cleared the isro test.
    My interview is on 27 june. I don’t know much about the job in isro. i luv theoritical physics and Electronics. can any one compare these two?

  39. i ‘ve also got placed in bosch. can anyone compare isro and bosch. sorry for the typo above ;)

  40. @Vinay,

    Iridium. You can read about it here,

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Iridium_%28satellite%29

    You should have carried your project report I guess. It carries some weightage. Especially if you contributed something substantial.

    Oh, and thanks for the permission. I shall write a post very soon. :)

    @Shamsudheen,

    Congrats for your placement in Bosch. Another of my dream companies. Bosch should be good I guess. It all depends on what you do. Anything on your job description ?

    About ISRO, it’s a dream organisation. The pay is good too and there is going to be a revision soon. What’s more, the projects are Government funded. :)

  41. @Karthik
    THanks bro, and also you inspired me to start a blog in wordpress. in bosch they said my department is EEG (Something related to gasoline engine control systems). :)

    i would like to continue my studies while working. for that i think isro is better.

  42. @Vinay

    I havn’t received the call letter yet. Even though I got a call letter from the web site along with the result. It says I have to produce OBC certificate in the prescribed format and to fill up the enclosed bio-data format. But both are not present in the given PDF document.I send a mail to isro. do you know what to do?. hav u got the hard copy call letter?

  43. @ Ankit,

    Don’t know about the results mate. Going by latest information, interviews are gonna be around till 27th june atleast. Results will be declared in july i guess.

    @ Shamsudheen,

    I guess, salary wise, bosch is good. There is no limit to salary in your future in private organizations, you can even earn 60-70k after few years, But isro is just fixed salary of 20k or so. And then, rest depends upon promotions. Anyways, its your call. I told you this because you already have bosch offer.

    I got hard copy of call letter. It encloses a bio-data format which needs to be filled. The OBC certificate needs to be signed by gazetted officer above rank of tehsildar.

    @Karthik,

    It was in my favour that i didn’t carry the project work. It is on DSP. They would have killed me with questions on DSP. That’s why i escaped , fortunately because they didn’t ask.

  44. @Shamsudheen,

    I thought the interviews were held only on from 16th till 22nd. Correct me if im wrong. Is your interview on 27th. Which center are you called in? The posts are so less, about 125 for electronics. I dont know why they shortlisted so many.

  45. @Vinay,

    DSP. :) I had it on my resume for a while in interests. After the semester, I decided to remove it. :) It still fascinates me, but I know very little.

  46. @Shamsudheen,

    Political influence? I doubt if it works like that in ISRO. Scientists are really weird guys. I don’t think they will listen to politicians!!!! Specially in ISRO. I heard it works in DRDO though. But not in ISRO. Anyways, best of luck for your interview. If ISRO sent you an e-mail, then please tell me how many guys they sent the mail in the “To” field. That way, you can estimate how many people they called in Trivendrum.

    @Karthik,

    DSP is nothing special, man. It just is about image and speech processing, in particular. You got to learn FFT algorithms to analyze the signals that are sampled. It is a bit complex though, the analysis. I personally found it boring. Im rather into theoretical physics and communications part rather than core electronics and its specializations.

  47. @Vinay,

    Bro…dont worry abt the salary in ISRo..its under revision and within a few months there’s surely gonna be a gud hike in salaries…it is surely gonna touch arnd 30K (if not more)…!
    But the first thing to worry abt are the results..even i got info that the results r gonna take at least a month…

    nd yeah..i think u did a gud thing by not taking ur project…they started cross questioning abt my project nd almost caught me wrong footed..i wish i had done the same…!

    nyway, how long was ur interview?i was unluckily d first person to be interviewed yesterday…huhh…they interrogated me for 25 mins..!!!!!!!!…were u as unlucky as me

  48. @Vinay,

    Bro…dont worry abt the salary in ISRo..its under revision and within a few months there’s surely gonna be a gud hike in salaries…it is surely gonna touch arnd 30K (if not more)…!
    But the first thing to worry abt are the results..even i got info that the results r gonna take at least a month…

    nd yeah..i think u did a gud thing by not taking ur project…they started cross questioning abt my project nd almost caught me wrong footed..i wish i had done the same…!

    nyway, how long was ur interview?i was unluckily d first person to be interviewed yesterday…huhh…they interrogated me for 25 mins..!!!!!!!!…were u as unlucky as me

  49. m not sure y d last comment go posted but not the important one (the one i posted earlier and just re-posted as well)
    i guess its better to wait for the blog owner to return and do the needfull..

  50. @Shamz,

    I did’nt add any link or e-mail ID along…
    M breaking up ma post into parts…i think d there may be a word limit for evry post…

  51. @Vinay,

    Bro…dont worry abt the salary in ISRo..its under revision and within a few months there’s surely gonna be a gud hike in salaries…it is surely gonna touch arnd 30K (if not more)…!
    But the first thing to worry abt are the results..even i got info that the results r gonna take at least a month…

  52. @Vinay,

    contd….
    nd yeah..i think u did a gud thing by not taking ur project…they started cross questioning abt my project nd almost caught me wrong footed..i wish i had done the same…!

    nyway, how long was ur interview?i was unluckily d first person to be interviewed yesterday…huhh…they interrogated me for 25 mins..!!!!!!!!…were u as unlucky as me

  53. @Ankit, @Rajesh,

    Yes, the salaries are gonna be revised soon. But the main thing is the pride in working for isro. I called the ISAC and the person incharge told me that the interviews are going on in other centres. Maybe there is just one panel which will travel to all the centres to be fair to everyone. I think the results will be out by 10th july or 15 at most. Ankit, how was your interview bro? Kindly give me your interview details. Im eager to hear.

  54. @Vinay,

    yaar…i would love to share it with you but m unable to post the entire thing…i have to wait for Karthik to approve my post…dunno the reason but i cant do anythng..!
    the interview didnt go very well though..it lasted for arnd 25 mins…they kept smiling throughout d interview!!it wasnt very stressfull though..

  55. @Vinay,

    I guess u may get confused by my last post…i was trying to say that the interviewers kept smiling as if they were mocking me or something…the questions were very logical..relating to IC Engines and Strength of Materials….m not very sure what they were expecting from me and what they were trying to test…!!

  56. @Karthik,

    Where are you, dude. Waiting long to hear from you. Did you join infosys? When is your joining date?

    Im still waiting for isro though currently working in ADA. The work there is good, i am about to get a project in requirements analysis. Though i hope to get some work in development and testing soon. If isro comes true, then i’ll bid ADA good bye before a month since the induction in isro starting soon in september. Hey anyone, any updates on ISRO results?

  57. @Ankit,

    Yes, as far as i know, the interviews all over india are over. I enquired with the ISAC centre and they told me that results will be announced in the third week of july most probably. Im still waiting for your interview details. Any idea how many posts are there and how many they are going to filter in the interviews?

  58. @Vinay,

    Yaar i have no idea abt the number of posts..i was relying on the info that u gave earlier…m really tensed rite now!!

    well..as for my interview details..here goes!

    I was the first person to be interviewed on that day.

    I entered the room and first of all they asked me abt my placement. I told them that I have already been selected in TCS but have no intensions of joining the IT Industry. They all smiled.

    Then they asked me abt my project and asked for the report. I was told to explain abt it. I did, but not upto my own expectations.

    Then they asked for my fav subjects. I said IC Engines (related to my project) and Strength of Materials. Now the real thing started.

    One of the interviewers started with IC Engines and asked abt IHP, BHP and FHP. I answered but they didnt seem satisfied.

    Then he asked me about Engine Cooling and got me all confused. It was the first time that I was sitting for a technical interview. I told them that i was really nervous. They all smiled and told me to relax.

    Then they changed the subject and moved to SOM. A different person then gave me a question (a really tricky one). He asked me to design a member with an axial load and a point load on one side and fixed on the other end. I didnt reaelly understand what all he wanted me to do so i asked him to repeat the question. I was made to move towards the board and solve it. I started with Shear Force and Bending Moment diagrams and then kept explaining what i was trying to do. I think i continued for arnd 5 mins. When i got stuck, a third person suddenly popped in and asked if i had prepared for Heat Transfer. I frankly said No!

    A fourth member of the panel then suddenly started with Quality Control. He asked me what Sigma means. Then he asked me to differentiate b/w 3 and 6 Sigma. I answered, but he was not ready to agree with what i said and most of the panel members kept smiling.

    While i was tackling this person, a fifth member then popped in with another question. He asked, if two 3 Sigma companies collaborated and decided to manufacture together then would the new company be a 6 Sigma company?

    It was a very stupid question (I think). I said No. All he members broke into a chuckle and kept asking me if i was sure. I stayed with my answer. He inquired one last time and i still said No. Smiling, he said “Ok fine”.

    They all said Thank You. I stood up and was about to leave, when one of the members asked me to take my project report. I took it, said Thank You and left.

    This is all that happened. I dont know how to assess it. All this lasted for 25 mins. So what do u think??
    Waise how long was ur interview?

  59. @ Vinay,

    man..i have aready posted ma entire interview details…its waiting for approval from Karthik…u’ll have to wait for him to do so!!

  60. @Ankit,

    Hey, i just saw your posts which were reposted. I didn’t read them last time. Yes, i did a wise thing by not taking my project report. They would have killed me with questions on DSP. Anyways, its 5th now, i think we should start checking the results by 10th july. Its gonna be displayed anywhere uptil 15th july. It will be early i guess , looking at the way they posted the written test results. Its gonna be 2-3 days earlier than the said day. Kindly keep us posted about the results. Man, am i gonna be thrilled if i get into ISRO. Do you know if they put us into induction training once we get selected. I heard its in Vikram Sarabhai Space centre. Do you have any info regarding the induction programme?

  61. Hai, every1 my interview is over.

    @Ankit
    if u wish, i ll create a post in my blog as a continuaion of this and you can post your experience there. I will approve it.

  62. @Shamzu,

    How was your interview bro? Good? Kindly post your interview details here!!!!!!! Did you find out when they will announce the results?

  63. @Ankit,Shamzu,Vinay,

    Sorry for my absence for so long. I joined infy on the 23rd of this month and wasn’t assigned a PC till about two days back. Then I found out, (it was obvious actually) that they had blocked a few sites. SO haven’t been using the internet for a while now.

    I have removed all your comments from the moderation queue. I don’t understand myself as to why they were detected in the first place. But, it’s all set right now.

    I don’t think I shall be accessing the net all that often here. So you guys will have to bear with me in case your comments get trapped in the spam queue or something. I shall fix it whenever I get time.

    All of your comments were very engaging. :)

    I hope the results come out soon and you all make it. One of our educators here is an ex-ISRO scientist. He was amazing. :)

  64. Hi Ankit,

    That was an interesting read!!!!! I was also the unlucky one to start first in the interview. I think you did well. Anyways, the results are around the corner. Just a few days wait. Hey, and keep me posted on the results!!!!! By the way, my interview lasted for 20 mins.

  65. @ Vinay,

    Wow! What a coincidence!!!
    We both were the first ones and were grilled almost to the same extent. I wonder what the result is going to be.
    Chalo all the best bro..i just hope that we make it!!

  66. @Ankit,

    All the best to you to. The results must be out in a week or two. Just hope that we both make it!!!!!!!!!!

    @Karthik,

    How is your infy experience dude?

    @Shamzu,

    Kindly post your interview details

  67. @ yugendar,

    Do you have any source that says result will come next week. We’ve been waiting for a long time. Kindly tell us if you know the date of declaration of results.

  68. if u know any one isro, jst go through them…
    bcos results are already decladed in isro campus

  69. @Yugendar,

    Really!!!!!!!! Dude, please tell my result man. I will be really thankful to you.

    My roll no is 1900060 and name:Vinay kumar , fathers name: Suresh babu. Reg no:20101358.

    Hurry!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  70. @Yugendar,

    Which isro campus has declared the results?????????? the ISRO satellite centre in bangalore?? If you happen to access the results then please look for my results man……….. Kindly tell me my results soon. I’ll be waiting for your post.

    Thanks in advance ,
    Vinay kumar.

  71. @Yugendar

    Bro…….., If you come to know about the results, please do inform me. my roll no is 1101397, name:Basil Varghese. I am waiting for your post.

    thanks
    Basil Varghese

  72. @Yugender

    hey man…From where can we get the results??I am from delhi…so how can i get my result??

  73. @ yugender

    Dude…i know ppl who have worked in ISRO..according to what they have told me, the result is sent by mail..has any one out here received any mail from ISRO regarding the results?

  74. @Ankit,

    I think this guy is duping us. Why would they announce results in campus. Doesn’t make any sense. They will display it in website. Just keep checking the isro website.

  75. @ Vinay,

    I agree with you man. this guy was just fooling around with us.
    Did u check out at the office?I think u have some links in ISAC!!

  76. @Ankit,

    No man, i’ve called ISAC every week for the past 3 weeks. The only input i get is that results will be displayed on isro website in 3weeks, 2weeks or so. Im very positive that they will display the results this week or next week at the most. I think it’ll be around this week itself. Keep me posted on the developments okay?

  77. @Vinay,

    Sure man..i will…but i dont have any of your email ID, chat ID or anythng. How can i get in touch with you in case i have to?
    I just hope they declare the results soon. I am tired of waiting. The whole waiting part is killing me man. Do you have an orkut account?

  78. @Ankit,

    Im not on orkut unfortunately. But you can have my email id. its vinay_123kumar at yahoo.com. Send me a mail so that i note your id as well.

  79. sorry for late reply….
    bt results are available in b’lore campus..i know my result , i didn;t got it…
    pls my advoise is lake is as lite if anybody not selected in isro….
    pls go through any one in isro….then they will get results quickly…..may be they will update in web with in 2 to 3 days..

    once again all the best to all :)

  80. @Yugendar,

    Which ISRO campus in bangalore has displayed the results? The ISAC centre?? Where is it posted? Kindly give me the directions. Do they allow everyone inside the campus?????????
    If you have contacts in ISRO kindly enquire about my results.

    My roll no: 1900060

  81. @Ankit,

    I just called the ISRO satellite centre, which is handling the whole recruitment process. They told the results are not declared in campus. And that there is no other way of knowing the results. He said the results will be declared THIS week. So , have patience and just keep checking the website. All the best. :)

  82. @Yugendar,

    First of all, i think, going by your english, you are not an electronics engineer in the first place. Improve your grammer first and stop fooling around. If you don’t have anything else to do, just sit in your home and stop misguiding people.

  83. @Mark,

    Thank you for correcting me, Mark. I was just upset with this guy for giving false information.

    @Karthik,

    The results are not yet declared mate. Any new news??????????

  84. @Anish, @ Rai,

    I don’t want to bolster everybody’s expectations by giving promises. But i called up the ISAC yesterday and they told it’ll take another 2-3 days. But im not sure that it will. Last time they told it’ll come last week but it didn’t come. Best of luck everyone.

  85. Hello,

    Today i have talk with ISAC,
    they told me that result will announce in this month’s last week.
    and it’s final.

  86. @Everybody,

    Hey, why is everyone silent!!!

    If the results are declared early next week, kindly keep me posted.

    Any idea about the post induction training folks??

  87. Vinay, my problem is me being subscribed to the comments feed of my friend’s blog and having to listen to you morons chatter away. Ever heard of instant messenger or email? Use them instead of corresponding with other people in the comments section of a stranger’s blog.

  88. You are a moron by the very fact that you are still here. Go away already! And take your moron friends with you.

  89. Well, i’m dignified enough to not lock horns with a psycho like you. Bye everyone, i’m visiting this blog no more. Lets leave this troubled guy alone.

  90. Finally. Good riddance.

    anish, you are welcome to hang around the comments section of a stranger’s blog. Speaks volumes about you. Good work. And learn to capitalise your own name.

  91. Hi, everyone

    i got into isro. but the problem is i joined bosch too. even though there is no bond in bosch i know some guys who quit isro and joined bosch. don’t know how do they feel now. i will ask dem. but any comments from you guys??

  92. congratulation every1 who r selected.i m also selected.any information about joining and further process!

  93. Anybody knows how many candidates have been selected by ISRO this time
    If don’t know just give information on the basis of previous years recruitments.

    (RECRUITMENT OS SCIENTIST/ENGINEER)

  94. Dont tell me influnece dont work in ISRO…form my college, 3 guys who got selected are children of ISRO employees…one of them is my friend, and he being a honest person, told me he was sure to get in due to influence…I also dint believe all these rumours, but now its clear as daylight; btw, i got selected too

    I would not advise anyone to join ISRO as long term job; you just dont gorw; but if u plan on doing MS/M tech, its an excellent choice…2 senior engineers from isro (mech) whom i know advised me not to consider ISRO.

    And i cant believe some1 who got into BOSCH considering ISRO;

  95. Dear Friends,

    I visited this blog for the first time only last week , I was happy that a lot of friends are interested in joining ISRO, then discussions turned into fights…..
    pathetic, hmmm , Before all were tensed and praying to God about selection , But after selection!!!! many have different comments , ISRO is not good. etc…. What is this ? My comment , none of the companies are ever lasting , If we work hard with good intention only We will love the organization (any whether Bosch or ISRO) Whether long term or short term God will decide….Right friends!!! I did not want to put a comment when I saw the fights….I don’t want anyone to fight like this….But after selection process over , all comments turned into a different direction …..So thats why at last I posted this comment . Just we be friends and be happy….HAPPY FRIENDSHIP DAY!!!!! :-)

  96. Now that the results are out or whatever I hope all you retards piss off and never come back here. Stop commenting on a 4 month old post. This is not the place to get your ISRO queries answered. GTFO and stay out.

  97. hello,
    how much time it will take to get OFFER letter of ISRO. what is joining date. can anybody tell me. I m working in a software company having pkg of 7.5L but now i want to join ISRO. n i m selected plzz let me know the joinig date and venue

  98. hi guys,

    I am a it guy having 2 years of experience.I am intrested to join in isro .What have to prepared for the exam .Can u guys give me details??

  99. SIR, I WANT TO JIN ISRO. BUT CUDNT FIND ITS SYLLABUS FOR MECHANICAL ENGG. ANYWHERE. WILL U PLEASE HELP ME???

  100. My dear Friend…

    I think you haven’t understood the value of ISRO and working in it. Don’t think, its just a company to work for salary. Don’t put any idiotic news like this.

    The biggest comedy here is… A lazy fellow, who can’t even take a pen & paper, is commenting about Indian government.

    Let me put my last words. There reason for that laziness was the people like you have been hired.

  101. Hi! im Gowtham doin my 3rd year B.Tech IT. Its my dream to work in ISRO and take up a challenging career. can anyone help me how to prepare myself? should i do my PG? if so in which stream… should i write any qualifying exams like UPSC, GATE?… kindly guide me…

  102. Hi all,
    I am lovey. I appeared for the ISRO scientist interview on 10 july 2008 at SAC Ahmedabad (Msc Mathematics Branch). I have no information about results. We had only interviews, no written tests. Other guys from other streams had written also. But anyways. Many of U guys are not posted in ISRO, congtats. Please can anyone help me out about the results of ISRO SC-2008 Scientist (MSc Mathematics)? Whether declared or not? One of my friend said me that the results are not declared yet and it seems that it will not be declared. If someone of u know please post your comment. Waiting for your reply.Byeeeeee.

  103. Hi all,
    I am lovey. I appeared for the ISRO scientist interview on 10 july 2008 at SAC Ahmedabad (Msc Mathematics Branch). I have no information about results. We had only interviews, no written tests. Other guys from other streams had written also. But anyways. Many of U guys are now posted in ISRO, congrats. Please can anyone help me out about the results of ISRO SC-2008 Scientist (MSc Mathematics)? Whether declared or not? One of my friend said me that the results are not declared yet and it seems that it will not be declared. If someone of u know please post your comment. Waiting for your reply.Byeeeeee.

  104. People like me can speak out openly and ask for guidelines only from seniors like you all, through blogs like these! I felt very fortunate for finding such a blog, sharing views n experiences in ISRO!!! So, try to Help me out guys!!!

  105. hi am aishuu doing my first ece… its my aim to get into isro… hw can i forward myself… have to i write any exams… tis is my mail..(guna.aishu@gmail.com).. please guide me friend…

  106. hi
    i attended the ISRO interview on 16th december in sriharikota for chemical engg
    but no information about the results
    did any body knows about it r send the link in which we can see the result

  107. hi…. i ve jus applied for ISRO written test… i am doing my final year CSE..
    can you pls tel me wat kind of subjects should i prepare for the written as well as for interview??? any one pls mail me abt the details???

  108. iam from ECE branch n i applied 4 isro scientist recruitment test but i dont know d syllabus 4 that exam….plz send me all details……

  109. i am vaishnavi. doin final year BE ECE. Cud anyone please tell me what r the essentilas to be learnt for ISRO exam?(to be held on 26th april 2009)..please reply..

  110. i am electrical & electronics engg student can i apply for the electronic category posts in isro kindly reply soon as last date is fast approaching(12/03/09),

  111. Hi
    can anyone please tell me the required syllabus for the written test, I have done my B.Tech with CS, so what subject i can prepare for the interview.
    please suggest.
    thanks,

  112. any candidate with 66% can be shortlisted for written Scientist/Engineer SC exam 26/4/09 .how they convert cpi to %

  113. Hi,

    I did my Engineering in ECE. But I would like to apply for CS post at ISRO as I have about 6 yrs of Software Experience. Can I do that?

    Thanks
    Likhita

  114. UPDATED COMPUTER SCIENCE SYLLABUS FOR APRIL 2009 ISRO SCIENTIST EXAM

    COMPUTER HARDWARE
    Digital Logic: Logic functions, Minimization, Design and synthesis of Combinational and Sequential circuits — Number representation and Computer Arithmetic (fixed and floating point)

    Computer Organization: Machine instructions and addressing modes, ALU and Data-path, hardwired and micro-programmed control, Memory interface, I/O interface (Interrupt and DMA mode), Serial communication interface, Instruction pipelining, Cache, main and secondary storage.

    SOFTWARE SYSTEMS
    Data structures: Notion of abstract data types, Stack, Queue, List, Set, String, Tree, Binary search tree, Heap, Graph — Programming Methodology: C programming, Program control (iteration, recursion, Functions), Scope, Binding, Parameter passing, Elementary concepts of Object oriented, Functional and Logic Programming —

    Algorithms for problem solving: Tree and graph traversals, Connected components, Spanning trees, Shortest paths — Hashing, Sorting, Searching — Design techniques (Greedy, Dynamic Programming, Divide-and-conquer) — Compiler Design: Lexical analysis, Parsing, Syntax directed translation, Runtime environment, Code generation, Linking (static and dynamic) —

    Operating Systems: Classical concepts (concurrency, synchronization, deadlock), Processes, threads and Inter-process communication, CPU scheduling, Memory management, File systems, I/O systems, Protection and security.

    Databases: Relational model (ER-model, relational algebra, tuple calculus), Database design (integrity constraints, normal forms), Query languages (SQL), File structures (sequential files, indexing, B+ trees), Transactions and concurrency control —

    Computer Networks: ISO/OSI stack, sliding window protocol, LAN Technologies (Ethernet, Token ring), TCP/UDP, IP, Basic concepts of switches, gateways, and routers.

  115. Thanks to seifee for the providing the syllabus for cse..In the same way can any one please provide ECE syllabus also.
    Is gate syllabus sufficient or any new topics will be added.

  116. hello friends….i am piyush in my last yr engineering…..i wiud b sitting for isro this april…..n m really confused on wht to study…can eny1 tell me the ece sllyabus for isro…n pls reply quickly as not many days r left for the exams………….

  117. Networks: Network graphs: matrices associated with graphs; incidence, fundamental cut set and fundamental circuit matrices.Solution methods: nodal and mesh analysis. Network theorems: superposition, Thevenin and Norton’s maximum power transfer, Wye-Delta transformation. Steady state sinusoidal analysis using phasors. Linear constant coefficient differential equations; time domain analysis simple RLC circuits, Solution of network equations using Laplace transform: frequency domain analysis of RLC circuits. 2-port network parameters: driving point and transfer functions. State equations for networks.

    Electronic Devices: Energy bands in silicon, intrinsic and extrinsic silicon. Carrier transport in silicon: diffusion current, drift current, mobility, resistivity. Generation and recombination of carriers. p-n junction diode, Zener diode, tunnel diode, BJT, JFET, MOS capacitor, MOSFET, LED, p-I-n and avalanche photo diode, LASERs. Device technology: integrated circuits fabrication process, oxidation, diffusion, ion implanation, photolithography, n-tub, p-tub and twin-tub CMOS process.

    Analog Circuits: Equivalent circuits (large and small-signal) of diodes, BJTs, JFETs, and MOSFETs. Simple diode circuits, clipping, clamping, recitifier. Biasing and bias stability of transistor and FET amplifiers. Amplifiers: single-and multi-stage, differential, operational, feedback and power. Analysis of amplifiers; frequency response of amplifiers. Simple op-amp circuits. Filters. Sinusoidal oscillators; criterion for oscillation; single-transistor and op-amp configurations. Function generators and wave-shaping circuits. Power supplies.

    Digital circuits: Boolean algebra, minimization of Boolean functions; logic gates digital IC families (DTL, TTL, ECL, MOS, CMOS). Combinational circuits: arithmetic circuits, code converters, multiplexers and decoders. Sequential circuits: latches and flip-flops, counters and shift-registers. Sample and hold circuits, ADCs, DACs. Semiconductor memories. Microprocessor(8085): architecture, programming, memory and I/O interfacing.

    Signals and Systems: Definitions and properties of Laplace transform, continuous-time and discrete-time Fourier seris, continuous-time and discrete-time Fourier Transform, z-transform. Sampling theorems. Linear Time-Invariant (LTI) Systems: definitions and properties; casuality, stability, impulse response, convoilution, poles and zeros frequency response, group delay, phase delay. Signal transmission through LTI systems. Random signals and noise: probability, random variables, probability density function, autocorrelation, power spectral density.

    Controls Systems: Basic control system components; block diagrammatic description, reduction of block diagrams. Open loop and closed loop (feedback) systems and stability analysis of these systems. Signal flow graphs and their use in determining transfer functions of systems; transient and steady state analysis of LTI control systems and frequency response. Tools and techniques for LTI control system analysis: root loci, Routh-Hurwitz criterion, Bode and Nyquist plots. Control system compensators: elements of lead and lag compensation, elements of Proporational-Integral-Derivative(PID) control. State variable representation and solution of state equation of LTI control systems.

    Communications: Analog communication systems: amplitude and angle modulation and demodulation systems, spectral analysis of these operations, superheterodyne receivers; elements of hardware, realizations of analog communication systems; signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) calculations for amplitude modulation (AM) and frequency modulation (FM) for low noise conditions. Digital communication systems: pulse code modulation (PCM), differential pulse code modulation (DPCM), delta modulation (DM); digital modulation schemes-amplitude, phase and frequency shift keying schemes (ASK, PSK, FSK), matched filter receivers, bandwith consideration and probability of error calculations for these schemes.

    Electromagnetics: Elements of vector calculus: divergence and curl; Gauss’ and Stokes’ theorems, Maxwell’s equations: differential and integral forms. Wave equation, Poynting vector. Plane waves: propagation through various media; reflection and refraction; phase and group velocity; skin depth. Transmission lines: characteristic impedance; impedance transformation; Smith chart; impedance matching; pulse excitation. Waveguides: modes in rectangular waveguides; boundary conditions; cut-off frequencies; dispersion relations. Antennas: Dipole antennas; antenna arrays; radiation pattern; reciprocity theorem, antenna gain.

  118. hey can anyone tell me the email of isro id..i want make query for ma registration number..i hav noted that wrongly[:(]

  119. hi! i too bcause of my laziness did the same mistake.. but somewat better than u.. i directly noted the registration number on the DD and sent it.. and of course i did same my page.. by mistake i had deleted the file.. now i dunno wat to do…

  120. please somebody help…and tell me the id to mail isro people to get ma registationid..

  121. Hi everybody,

    There are too many comments here that are not related to the post in itself. For now I am turning off comments. Later on when I have time, I shall weed out the unnecessary comments.

    Thanks,
    Karthik