Power Generation, Operation, and Control – Wood & Wollenberg

This is about the amazing prescribed book we have for our Power System Operation and Control. Power Generation, Operation and Control by Allen J.Wood and Bruce F. Wollenberg. Allen J.Wood is at RPI (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute)!! Wow!! Or atleast was when he wrote the book. I searched the web for details on him, but somehow didn’t find it.

What’s so great about the book is that it presents the content in an absolutely real life situation. Wiley books in general are great!! First each problem is outlined. It’s really important to define a problem you know. Problem formulation in most cases is more difficult then solving it. Mostly we Indians are taught to simlpy solve meaningless numerical problems, whilst it is knowing why we are solving it and why in such a way that’s important.

 

If you want to learn the following, (I am no expert), but this book would be my suggestion:

  • Unit Commitment

  • Economic Dispatch.

  • Power System Security-(Contingency Analysis)

  • State Estimation in Power Systems-(Weighted least squares,Maximum Likelihood,Orthogonal decomposition)

 

The content presented is beatifully written and presented in a logical way each topic leading into the other. Also it is closer to real life.  The use of software in power systems excites me a lot and this is probably why I have taken a liking to this book. There is so much room for implementation. But I doubt if these technologies exist in India. Maybe with privatisation of power companies, we will witness a change.

Oh and for everyone who is considering a ME, MS in power systems, this book is a must read. It’s sad that staff in our colleges who have completed ME from Anna university haven’t even heard of this book. If you are interested even a lil bit in power systems , here’s your book.

I did a couple of units for my exam from this book. That’s the trouble really. None of the evaluators will have any idea what all this stuff is!! I might even end up scoring negative!!

P.S: I wrote this article before my exam.

56 responses to “Power Generation, Operation, and Control – Wood & Wollenberg

  1. Ha ha ha, dude but I am not against engineering itself. I am against stupid Anna University. Good books are still good books regardless of where you are doing engineering.

  2. I am not able to reproduce some of the results given in this book. Can you help or can you provide me the author contacts, if you have those by this time? Thanks!

  3. @Sanket,

    Sorry to disappont you, but no.

    If you are intereseted and have the time, you could name the problems with which you are having issues. If it’s something I have solved, I could probably help you out. Can’t assure anything though.

    • Hi , do you have the manual solution of the power generation operation and contro book ?
      I need it can you help me to get it please .
      thank’s

  4. Hi,

    Pls send me solution manual for Power System Operation and Control. by Allen J.Wood and Bruce F. Wollenberg. I will appreciate a quick response to this request. I have close deadlines on problems 6.4, 6.5 and 6.6, though I will appreciate other solutions

    Thanks.

    Uwakwe

  5. Hi Mr.Kartik sir,
    I have Allen.J.wood “Power system operation and control”……..but i need the book named ” Wood, A.J. and Woolenberg – Power generation operation for security – John Wiley and sons, 1989″ but i found there is no boo in this name……..could u tell me which is the one required immediately ……….kindly replt to my mail sir……thanku

  6. Could you please send me the solution manual to this book? Power genetration operation and control.

    Thanks very much

  7. Hi , do you have the manual solution of the power generation operation and contro book ?
    I need it can you help me to get it please .
    thank’s

Leave a Reply

